Project Online: Did my Enterprise Global save ok?


This post covers some odd behavior some of you may have seen recently in Project Online when you have edited and saved the Enterprise Global, for example after updating an Enterprise view for your users.  When you save from Project Pro you see the expected message in the status bar saying SAVE COMPLETED SUCCESSFULLY.

image

Yet If you look in the queue you see a ‘Getting Queued’ job – but it never seems to complete. 

image

However, if you open the global again (even from a different PC, or as a different user) you can confirm the message in Project Pro – that your changes were correctly saved. 

So what’s happening?  The job in the queue can be safely ignored, and if you compare to a Project Server 2013 (or even 2010) you will see that no queue jobs are ever generated when you save the Enterprise Global.  In fact the save process isn’t the same as for ‘ordinary’ plans – and a quick dig in the database (if you have an on-premises installation – and the right access) will show that the EGlobal plan is only present in the pub(lished) schema and not draft.  The save in fact goes right to the published database and does not go through a save/publish workflow in the queue.  The job appears to be an artifact of some recent change, and it does get cleared out by the queue cleanup process – so is nothing to worry about.

Comments (0)

Skip to main content