Important Notice: TechNet Wiki Migration Wave 2 (Dec 5 from 5 to 10PM PST)


In short: Please avoid making any edits and or posting any new TN Wiki articles on December 05, between 5pm PST and 10pm PST.

What’s happening?
The TechNet Wiki site  https://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki will be migrating from the current infrastructure to a full Azure hosted platform, this is part of our roadmap for a full Azure adoption across all our services and platforms.

When is this happening?
The platform team will starting the migration/cutover on 12/05/2018 @5pm PST and our work window to complete this migration is approximately 4 hours. To keep safe, please allow another hour of reserve... (so.. ending around 10PM PST).

What is the Impact?
No downtime is expected as we will have both systems running in parallel, however, during the work window we request that all users avoid making any edits and or posting any new articles until the migration is completed, this is absolutely critical as data loss can incur should a user perform any changes during that period.

For your information
PST is GMT-8, which means

  • 5PM or 17h00 PST = 1AM GMT (20/nov)
  • 10PM or 22h00 PST = 6 AM GMT (20/nov)
Comments (3)

  1. Peter, thanks for the heads up. But can you change the date in the text to December 5 and 12/5/2018?

  2. Peter, thanks for the update! It’s exciting to see the maintenance work being done on the Wiki.

Skip to main content