(Cloud)Tip of the Day: What Windows roles can I run in IaaS?

Today’s (Cloud) Tip…What Windows roles can I run in IaaS?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2721672 lists the Windows Server roles supported and not supported in Windows Azure. Just like the supported applications list, this list changes rapidly, so be sure to check back frequently!

Windows Server Roles

Windows Server 2008 R2 and later versions are supported for the following roles.  This list will be updated as new roles are confirmed:

  • Active Directory Domain Services
  • Active Directory Federation Services
  • Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services
  • Application Server
  • DNS Server
  • File Services
  • Network Policy and Access Services
  • Print and Document Services
  • Web Server (IIS)
  • Windows Server Update Services

The following roles are not supported on Windows Azure Virtual Machines:

  • Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol Server
  • Hyper-V
  • Remote Access (Direct Access)
  • Windows Deployment Services

Windows Server Features

Notable features that are not supported:


  • Internet Storage Name Server
  • Multipath I/O
  • Network Load Balancing
  • Peer Name Resolution Protocol
  • SNMP Services
  • Storage Manager for SANs
  • Windows Internet Name Service
  • Wireless LAN Service

Comments (0)

Skip to main content