With the release of the Lync 2013 August 2014 client updates it looks like the Outlook plugin logic was updated. You will notice now if you update an existing or create a new Lync meeting within outlook you will get the message in Figure 1 before closing it.
Figure 1: Lync meeting warning: Please send this meeting invite before joining the meeting. Otherwise, the meeting could end abruptly if you close the invite.
It looks like this update in plugin logic is tied to this KB http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2981753. Nice to see something to assist end users in updating meetings when something changes.