Exchange 2013 Server Role Architecture

A must read blog for all Exchange gurus!

The Past: Exchange 2007 and Exchange 2010

In 2005, we set out developing Exchange 2007. During the preliminary planning of Exchange 2007, we realized that the server architecture model had to evolve to deal with hardware constraints, like CPU, that existed at the time and would exist for a good portion of the lifecycle of the product. The architectural change resulted in five server roles, three of which were core to the product:

  1. Edge Transport for routing and anti-malware from the edge of the organization
  2. Hub Transport for internal routing and policy enforcement
  3. Mailbox for storage of data
  4. Client Access for client connectivity and web services
  5. Unified Messaging for voice mail and voice access

Read the complete blog at

Read my favorites blogs:

Designing a backup less Exchange 2010 Architecture

Step by step guide for upgrading Active Directory from Microsoft Windows 2003 to Microsoft Windows Server 2008

Microsoft Exchange 2010 CAS Array – Steps and Recommendations

Appear Offline in Microsoft Office Communicator Server 2007

Microsoft Exchange 2010 Test cases

Microsoft Exchange Server 2010 Disaster Recovery

Microsoft Exchange Server 2010 Upgrade Guide

Comments (0)

Skip to main content