Determining the type of CA

Recently I was working on a PKI/CA project so I thought to write a short simple blog on how to determine the type of CA you have.

One way that we generally use to determine the type of the CA is to look in the registry with either Regedit or Regedt32 and look at the following path HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Certsvc\Configuration\<your CA name>\CAType.

The CAType REG DWORD value will be set to one of four numeric values, which will represent the type of CA. Your CA types and their numeric representations include:

CAType of 0 (Enterprise Root CA)

CAType of 1 (Enterprise Subordinate CA)

CAType of 3 (Standalone CA)

CAType of 4 (Standalone Subordinate CA)

Hope this helps in any of your projects where you go to an organization for PKI upgrade or similar project and the customer does not have appropriate documentation.

Read my favorites blogs:

Designing a backup less Exchange 2010 Architecture

Step by step guide for upgrading Active Directory from Microsoft Windows 2003 to Microsoft Windows Server 2008

Microsoft Exchange 2010 CAS Array – Steps and Recommendations

Appear Offline in Microsoft Office Communicator Server 2007

Microsoft Exchange 2010 Test cases

Microsoft Exchange Server 2010 Disaster Recovery

Microsoft Exchange Server 2010 Upgrade Guide

Comments (1)

  1. Anonymous says:

    Good Article.

Skip to main content