Windows Server 2008 Roles, what are they?

A role is logical grouping of a set of components based on user scenarios, typical server workloads and dependencies. There are no roles installed by default.

The available roles in Server 2008 are:

  • Active Directory Certificate Services (AD CS)

  • Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS)

  • Active Directory Federation Services (AD FS)

  • Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services (AD LDS)

  • Active Directory Rights Management Services (AD RMS)

  • Application Server

  • Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) Server

  • Domain Name System (DNS) Server

  • Fax Server

  • File Services

  • Network Policy & Access Services

  • Print Services

  • Terminal Services

  • UDDI Services

  • Web Server (IIS)

  • Windows Deployment Services (WDS)

  • Windows SharePoint Services

Take a deeper look into any of the roles in the following link:

Skip to main content