Microsoft’s Docs.com service to be discontinued
Microsoft is retiring the Docs.com service on Friday, December 15, 2017 and we are hereby advising all users to move their existing Docs.com content to other file storage and sharing platforms as soon as possible, as Docs.com will no longer be available after this date.
Following Microsoft’s acquisition of LinkedIn, SlideShare has joined the Microsoft family, and represents the ideal platform for publishing your Word, PowerPoint, and PDF content with its audience of 70 million professionals, and vast content library. For custom sharing, OneDrive offers additional tools, permission settings, and security to help share and protect your data and content. With the retirement of the Docs.com service, we hope to streamline our offerings in this space and provide you with a more cohesive experience.
We appreciate your patronage of our service and apologize for any inconvenience resulting from this transition. We are happy to provide automatic backup of compatible files to OneDrive and OneDrive for Business.
Please carefully read the information in this article to learn more about your options for transferring or deleting your existing Docs.com content and account.
I’m a current Docs.com user – what does this mean for me?
The Docs.com site and existing content stored on its servers will be retired according to the following schedule:
June 9, 2017 – Creating new Docs.com accounts will no longer be supported. If you have an existing Docs.com account, you will still be able to view, edit, publish, download, and delete your existing content. If you have existing Journal and About pages, you will be able to edit them on Sway.com.
June 19, 2017 – If you are using Docs.com with a Work or School account, your Office 365 Administrator can automatically migrate all Docs.com content to OneDrive for Business on your behalf. We will update this article with specific information on this date.
August 1, 2017 – Publishing and editing content on Docs.com will no longer be supported. If you have an existing Docs.com account, you will still be able to view or download your existing content.
June 9 to December 14, 2017 – If you have an existing Docs.com account, you can sign in and choose to have your own content backed up automatically to OneDrive. As soon as your data has been transferred there, your Docs.com experience will change to read-only and links to your documents and files will redirect to the new location on OneDrive.
December 15, 2017 – The Docs.com site and all of its content will be officially discontinued. The site will no longer be accessible after this date.
May 15, 2018 – Any links to your Docs.com content that you previously shared with others and that were automatically redirected to your transferred content on OneDrive (or OneDrive for Business) will stop working after this date.
How do I move my files and content from Docs.com?
For Microsoft Accounts (Outlook.com, Hotmail.com, Live.com, etc.) and Facebook Accounts
Do the following:
- Log in to your Docs.com profile where you can enable automatic back up of all files that are compatible with OneDrive.
- Follow the prompts, which may include signing up for a new OneDrive account if you don’t already have one.
- When the process is complete, you’ll find all compatible content that you had previously published to Docs.com backed up to your OneDrive folders. The original content on Docs.com will thereafter only be available for viewing or downloading.
For more detailed backup instructions, and to learn what happens after the migration of your content, please see Back up your personal Docs.com content.
For Office 365 Users with OneDrive for Business
We can automatically back up all compatible content to your OneDrive for Business account if your Administrator enables the auto-migration service for your organization (this option is available as of June 19, 2017). If you would like your school’s or company’s Administrator to initiate this process for you, please contact them and include a link to this article.
You can also choose to log in to Docs.com and follow the auto-migration prompts yourself. When the process is complete, you will find all compatible content you had previously published to Docs.com backed up to your OneDrive for Business folders. The original content on Docs.com will thereafter only be available to view, download, and delete.
For Office 365 Users without OneDrive for Business
Log in to your Docs.com profile where you can download and save your content to your device or your preferred storage and sharing platforms. You can also delete your Docs.com account and content.
What about Docs.com content not backed up to OneDrive or OneDrive for Business?
For users who have successfully completed the auto-migration process, we will save other metadata such as descriptions of your content to an Excel file, and back this up to your OneDrive or OneDrive for Business account. We will also automatically save your About and Journal pages, and any Sway content to your My Sways page on Sway.com.
For all other users and content types not covered by the above, we recommend that you manually download and save them to your preferred storage and sharing platforms.
What about content that I have already linked from Docs.com to other Web sites?
For users who have opted in to auto-migration, links to compatible content in Docs.com will redirect to OneDrive or OneDrive for Business, and continue to show up on other Web pages. If you want to remove linked content, simply delete the files from OneDrive or OneDrive for Business. On May 15, 2018, the automatic redirection to all Docs.com content will end and all links will stop working, so please make sure to manually update any links on your other Web sites before this date.
For users who did not opt in to auto-migration, all links to Docs.com content will stop working on December 15, 2017. Please make sure to manually update any links on other Web sites before this date.
What about OneNote notebooks that I distribute via Docs.com?
Because OneNote notebooks published to Docs.com already originate from OneDrive accounts, the auto-migration service will not include such notebooks. If you need to save a copy of any OneNote notebook, click the Get Notebook button, which will be available until December 15, 2017.
What if my Docs.com content exceeds my OneDrive storage limit?
If you exceed your available storage limit on OneDrive, the migration of your Docs.com content will be interrupted. Any files that were successfully transferred will remain on your OneDrive account, but any files that could not be included will not be backed up and the migration process will stop.
Content migration can be resumed after you have freed up or purchased additional storage space on your OneDrive account. To resume an interrupted migration, log back in to Docs.com and then click Start migration again.
Why can’t I back up my Docs.com content to SlideShare?
SlideShare is intended for public posting. We want its users to purposefully manage which files they want to publish publicly on the Web, and to add their own structure, titles, and descriptions to their content.
I am an Office 365 Administrator. What do I need to know?
If you are an Office 365 administrator, we will soon offer detailed information about how you can automatically back up your organization’s Docs.com content to OneDrive for Business. We will update this article after June 19, 2017 with more information.