Site Administrator is unable to change the Regional Settings of site collection


The site Administrator is unable to change the regional settings for a site collection. Whenever he tries to do so a message appears that says something similar to the following:

"The column "Workflow History Parent Instance" in the list or library "CreateDateExpiredTasks History" has been marked for indexing. Please turn off all indexed columns before changing the collation of this site. You may re-index those columns after the collation of the site has been changed."

Or

"The column "Invitation" in the list or library "correlation ID number" has been marked for indexing. Please turn off all indexed columns before changing the collation of this site. You may re-index those columns after the collation of the site has been changed."

Or 

"The site regional settings cannot be changed because one or more columns has been marked for indexing".

 You could try to get rid of the afore mentioned column manually but that could take hours on a medium to large site.

 The best way I have found so far to be able to change the Regional Settings under this condition is to make sure the "Sort Order" option is set to "General", as in this screen-shot:


I hope this help.

 

Thanks to Dominique VIVES for having reviewed my post.

Helio De Andrade

 


Comments (10)
  1. Thank you for the useful information.

  2. Great says:

    Great one, worked for me

  3. Thanks, it saved me a bunch of work! says:

    I was starting to think that I would have to undo indexing and then re-do…
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. haakon says:

    Thanks, worked fine…

  5. Yizhar says:

    Thanks, worked fine for me!

  6. Sergey says:

    Thank you, Helio, you helped me a lot!

  7. ricardo says:

    Thnx! helped me…deleting the index only didnt do the trick. (https://community.office365.com/en-us/f/154/t/285274)

  8. ricardo says:

    Another tip: In my case, SharePoint error was refering to a workflow history list. Initially I thought it was the general list, but then I realized it was refering to another one. I opened all the workflows in SharePoint Designer and entered the "Open
    history list", in each I repeated the process to delete the indexed columns.

  9. Rockie says:

    Thank You very much! 🙂

    Best regards,
    Gennady

  10. cesar luza says:

    Thank you!! very useful

Comments are closed.

Skip to main content