General Ledger settings – 'Do not allow manual entry' and 'Interrupt in case of error account' detailed explanations


We have been answering a lot of questions lately about what the setting ‘Do not allow manual entry’ really is and how it reacts in different posting scenarios.


The setting applies only when manually entering the account value using a ledger account type in the general journal. So if you have posting profiles set up that would post to this account that would be allowed.

However, depending on what is set in the General ledger parameters, you may experience different behavior when this account is used.  See the below screenshot for the other parameter that will affect the behavior, “Interrupt in case of error account”.


The following table lays out the posting behavior when using “Interrupt in case of error account” and “Do not allow manual entry”.

Interrupt when posting

Do not allow manual entry

Validation behavior

Posting behavior

Selected

Selected

Accounts are identified that do not allow manual entry in validation messages

Posting is canceled

Cleared

Selected

Accounts are identified that do not allow manual entry in validation messages

Any account with Do not allow manual entry marked posts to the error account.

Cleared

Cleared

You can manually enter this account with a ledger account type and validate.

Posting is allowed to the account

Selected

Cleared

You can manually enter this account with a ledger account type and validate.

Posting is allowed to the account. Any other account though that would cause an error would stop posting.

 

We hope this helps with setting up your posting and accounting policies and understanding how the settings on the main account and GL parameters affects your daily processes.

Comments (1)

Skip to main content