Daylight saving time ends this weekend, November 2, in much of North America (posted October 30, 2008)

Daylight saving time ends this weekend in much of North America.  The US Energy Policy Act of 2005 introduced changes to the start and end dates of DST beginning in 2007.  Now, DST in North America is observed across most of the United States as well as Canada from the second Sunday in March through to the first Sunday in November.  In 2008, DST generally ends at 2:00AM local time on Sunday, November 2. This results in a new DST period that is approximately three to four weeks longer than in previous years. 

Please note that some parts of Canada and the United States do not observe DST, instead they remain on standard time throughout the year.  This includes Arizona, Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, Saskatchewan, and parts of northern British Columbia. 

Skip to main content