KB: Configuration Manager clients are automatically upgraded after installation of CU1

Here’s a quick tip on an issue you might run into after upgrading to ConfigMgr 2012 R2 SP1 Cumulative Update 1. When the upgrade is complete, you may find that your Configuration Manager clients are automatically upgraded to the Service Pack 1 client version. This is a known issue in which the Configuration Manager Client Retry Task is created under Microsoft\Microsoft\Configuration Manager in Task Scheduler. After it’s installed, the Configuration Manager client cannot delete the scheduled task that was created in this location, therefore the client is scheduled to be reinstalled every five hours. For all the details including a workaround, please see the following:

3123029Configuration Manager clients are automatically upgraded after a ConfigMgr 2012 R2 update to CU1 (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3123029)

J.C. Hornbeck, Solution Asset PM
Microsoft Enterprise Cloud Group