Nicole Washington, Renowned Serial Entrepreneur, Innovator, Executive, Management Consultant

This week, Stephen Ibaraki has an exclusive interview with Nicole Washington. Nicole Washington, owner of Micro Biz Coach® and Nicole's Naturals®, is an entrepreneur in the technology and food & beverage industries. Micro Biz Coach® works with micro and small business owners to identify strategies that ensure a successful business start-up or boost a veteran…


Code.org #HourOfCode – A Huge Success!

Satya Nadella and the Hour of Code – Your passion makes a different As a part of Code.org’s Hour of Code, more than 20 Million students in 76,000 classrooms around the world learned to code this week, bringing us one big step closer to Code.org’s goal of getting 100 million kids to try coding!


People of ACM: Q&A with Jeannette Wing Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Research

ACM Bulletin: Jeannette Wing's areas of expertise are in trustworthy computing, formal methods, concurrent and distributed systems, programming languages, and software engineering. Her contributions in security and privacy include work on attack graphs and attack surfaces, formalizing privacy policies for automated compliance checking, and trust in networks of humans and computers. Within the computer science…


Help build a prioritized list of National Occupational Standards (NOS) for Business Technology Management (BTM) occupations

Are you a Human Resources (HR) person or an “in the trenches” ICT professional at the managerial level, who has technical knowledge and understanding of Business Technology Management (BTM) related occupations under your jurisdiction or perhaps you know an individual within your company who fits this profile? The BTM area includes occupations such as business…


MVP Mentor Program

The MVP Mentor Program has a new website! The Program connects students who want to learn more about Microsoft technologies with today’s leading independent experts, Microsoft MVPs. The goal is to foster the next generation of technologists to be leaders in their fields and communities.


The education technology imperative facing higher education

Here is an article from David O’Leary from his roles as chair national council of IT Deans, CEO, CIO, VP, educator, writer IDG-IT World Canada… When I started teaching Mathematics and Communications to Electricians and Auto Mechanics in 1976, there were no computers available for public usage and the internet was an evolving concept under…


ACM: Register for April 23 Webcast on MOOCs with Andrew Ng and Marti Hearst, "The Online Revolution: Education for Everyone"

If you haven't yet, register TODAY for the next free ACM Webcast, "The Online Revolution: Education for Everyone," presented on Wednesday, April 23 at 2:30 pm ET (1:30 pm CT/12:30 pm MT/11:30 am PT/7:30 pm GMT) by Andrew Ng, Co-Founder of Coursera and Director of the Stanford Artificial Intelligence Lab. The talk will be followed…


Professor Mihaela Ulieru, President IMPACT Institute, Global ICT Innovation Researcher, Luminary and Authority

Professor Mihaela Ulieru is a seasoned expert in ICT-enabled innovation and President of the IMPACT Institute for the Digital Economy, aiming to capitalize on her achievements as the Canada Research Chair in Adaptive Information Infrastructures for the eSociety which she held for five years since July 2005. Along her over 25 year career, Professor Ulieru…


Chat with Dr. Mathai Joseph: Internationally Renowned Author, Executive, Researcher, and Technology Advisor; Distinguished Computer Scientist

CAREER Education: B.Sc. (Physics, 1962), M.Sc. (Physics, 1964) at the University of Bombay; Post-Graduate Diploma in Electronics at Welsh College of Advanced Technology (1965), Cardiff; Ph.D. at the University of Cambridge, U.K. (1968). Academic: Fellow, Senior Research Scientist at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai (1968-1985); Professor of Computer Science at University of Warwick, U.K….