DST: Upcoming Changes for Morocco and Pakistan

On June 1, 2008 there will be two new Daylight Saving Time changes that go into effect.  Pakistan and Morocco plan to introduce Daylight Saving time.  The governments of the two nations recently announced the change as part of their energy savings plans.  Although the changes go into effect on the same day in both countries, please note that they will have different end dates, as outlined below:

Pakistan:  DST begins on June 1st.  The clocks will move forward from 12:00:59 AM to 1:01:00 AM.  The UTC Offset will change from +5 hours to +6 hours for Pakistan.  DST will end at 12:00:59 AM on Sunday, August 31.  At this time, the clocks will roll back to 11:01:00 PM on Saturday, August 30.  The UTC Offset will change from +6 hours to +5 hours for Pakistan.

Morocco:  DST will begin on Saturday, May 31 at 11:59:59 PM when the clocks will move forward to 1:00:00 AM on Sunday, June 1.  This will result in the UTC Offset for Morocco changing from 0 to +1 hour.  DST in Morocco ends on Saturday, September 27, at 11:59:59 PM.  At this time, the clocks will roll back to 11:00:00 PM on Saturday, September 27, and the UTC offset will change from +1 hour to 0.

From Microsoft’s perspective, due to the short notice provided for these changes, Windows will not be creating one-off hotfix packages to accommodate the changes.  The plan is to include these updates in the next Windows DST cumulative package, which is scheduled for release later in the summer.  To provide a more immediate solution, we will be updating Microsoft KB Article 914387 with the changes for Morocco and Pakistan.  The changes for this article should be in place by the end of this week.  Additional information will also be available on the Daylight Saving Time Help and Support Center.

OK, that’s it for this post – please remember to test any changes in an isolated environment before implementing them in your live production environment.  Until next time …

CC Hameed

Share this post :